MahaShivaratri: the celebration of our Spirit

After creation was complete, Parvati asked Lord Shiva which rituals pleased him the most. The Lord replied that the 13th night of the new moon, during the month of Maagha, is his most favourite day. Parvati repeated these words to her friends, from whom the word spread over all creation.”

Tandava: the dance of the Deities

The Deities’s dance reminds the armony of enlightened Chakras at Kundalini’s passage

Accord to the tradition, just today 12th of February falls the favourite day of Shri Shiva and celebrated as Mahashivaratri. We saw in a previous article that the Shiva Tattwa (the principle of Shiva) corresponds to the universal Self that is reflected within us in our Self, i.e. our Spirit (in Sanskrit Atma).
When we talk of Self Realization, we refer to the awakening of our Spirit and to the manifestation of it and of its beautiful qualities. We rediscover inside ourselves the pure and unconditioned love, the everlasting joy, the security and the courage, the self confidence and trust in others, the serenity and the deep knowledge of our being.

In our heart resides our serenity and comforting silence.
Let’s try to look for this silence now, in this auspicious day, let’s try to deliver ourselves for a few minutes from the confusion created by a myriad of thoughts that tosses our attention around, restlessly.
It is only question to consider for moment what the most important thing of our life is just simply within us, in our heart; let’s put our hand on our heart and let’s listen to our heartbeats with full attention and, when our attention is freed by the burden of the mind, let’s lapse into our inner silence.
We can keep our eyes closed or let our eyes dwell upon the picture of mount Kailash, where they say Lord Shiva is residing. The peaks, eternally covered with snow, suggest us the candor of our heart and the silent and allpervading joy of our Self: let’s dwell in it!

Mount Kailash

Mount Kailash: the abode of Shri Shiva

Atma (or Nirvana) Shatakam is one of the rare stotras composed by the Indian saint Adi Shankaracharya. In this beautiful stotra, Adi Shankara (note that Shakara is one of the names of Lord Shiva and means “the bestower of benevolence, auspiciuosness and peace) identify himself with the Lord Shiva, saying that he is not the mind, nor the body, intellect or none of the component of his life, but only the eternal and unchanging Shivo (Self).
It says:

Neither mind, nor intellect, ego, nor thought;
Not hearing, taste, smelling or sight; Not ether or earth, fire or air.
Eternal bliss and awareness am I, I am Shiva, I am Shiva.

Nor the energy of life, nor the five vital winds;
Not the seven components of the body
Nor the five sheaths; nor the five organs of action.
Eternal bliss and awareness am I, I am Shiva, I am Shiva.

Neither loathing, nor liking, greed nor delusion;
No envy or pride, duty or purpose; No desire, no freedom.
Eternal bliss and awareness am I, I am Shiva, I am Shiva. 

Neither virtue or vice, not pleasure or pain;
Not sacred chant or pilgrimage, not Veda or sacrifice
I am not enjoying, enjoyable, or enjoyer.
Eternal bliss and awareness am I, I am Shiva, I am Shiva.

Neither fear of death, no distinction of caste;
No father, no mother, no birth;
No friend or relation, no master or disciple.
Eternal bliss and awareness am I, I am Shiva, I am Shiva.

I am without doubt, I exist without form;
All-pervading am I, I give life to the senses;
Eternal, unchanging, neither free nor attached.
Eternal bliss and awareness am I, I am Shiva, I am Shiva
.

Merry Shivaratri to All!

2 Comments

  1. Thanks. 🙂
    Jai Shiv Shankar !!!

  2. Veni

    Shankar Love:)
    JSM/JSAS!

Leave a comment

