The Seven Chakras

The Seven ChakrasIn our energetic system, or subtle system, we have seen that there are 3 main channels and 7 main centers, called as chakras. A chakra is a wheel of energy spinning at a specific rate and corresponds to a physical nervous plexus.
Chakras are usually represented with flowers; so when a chakra is not working properly we say that chakra-flower is closed and when the chakra return to balance we say that the chakra-flower is opening. And, actually, this is what you feel when your chakras are cleared by your Kundalini, you feel like an opening that allows your Kundalini rising more.
In fact, when you Kundalini is awakened, at first only few threads of it can reach your seventh chakra, the Sahastrara; after your chakras open more and more, more threads of Kundalini can pass through.
The principle is very simple, but still it could take time before you reach a complete opening: every living process takes the time that is needed and you cannot force it. Whoever promises you to reach a higher level in a short time, by paying or by any effort, is not honest, because it is impossible. Still, you will soon feel an improvement you will feel more relaxed, more attentive, more peaceful, more energetic, etc.

At this point, we will give a look to the main seven chakras that will be explained in more details in the next sections of this course.

Mooladhara chakra

The Mooladhara chakra is placed in correspondence of the pelvic plexus, just below the sacred bone. It is reflected at the base of the hand-palm and its color is red. This chakra has 4 aspects — we say that its flower has four petals.
Its fundamental qualities are innocence (meant as purity) and wisdom. This chakra sustains the rising of our Kundalini, so the stronger is our Mooladhara, the more our Kundalini remains up.

Swadhisthan chakra

The Swadhisthan chakra is placed in the aortic plexus. It is reflected in the thumbs of the hand, its color is yellow and it has 6 petals.
Its main qualities are: pure knowledge (Nirmala Vidya), pure attention (Nirmala Chitt.) and creativity. It gives us energy for the creative though and at physical level it manages the functions of liver, spleen, pancreas and other organs.

Nabhi chakra

The Nabhi, or Manipur, chakra is placed in the solar plexus. It is reflected in the middle finger of your hand, its color is green and it has 10 petals. It has seven petals. Its main qualities are: satisfaction, peace, balance. It manages our relationship with the material world.

Anahat chakra

The Anahat chakra or Heart chakra is in the cardiac plexus. It is reflected in the little finger of your hand and its color is red. It has 12 petals. Its main qualities are: love, joy, confidence, courage, trust.
Our Heart chakra is also the abode of our Spirit, or Self, that in Sanskrit is called as Atma. Our Atma is the pure, real essence of ourselves. When we talk of Self Realization, we mean that we can perceive our Atma.

Vishuddhi chakra

The Vishuddhi chakra is placed in the cervical plexus. it is reflected in the index finger  and its color is blue. It has 16 petals. Its main qualities are: sense of diplomacy, respect, sweetness, sense of collectiveness, discrimination, detachment. This chakra manage all the sense organs and give us also the capacity to feel the vibrations. It is the chakra of communication.

Agnya chakra

The Agnya chakra is placed in the optic chiasma. It is reflected in the ring finger and its color is white. It has 2 petals. Its main qualities are: forgiveness, compassion, humility.
All the thoughts, about the past or the future, reach the Agnya chakra. These thoughts create a veil of illusion called as mind, that reduces the capacities of our brain and give us a distorted vision of the reality. As long as the reality is filtered by those thoughts, we cannot enjoy the present and be connected with the Reality itself. They create worries, expectations, pain, ambitions, anything so unreal, but still giving us so many troubles. In the moment our Agnya chakra is free, clear, we will see that those feelings and thoughts were truly fake.
Furthermore, our Agnya chakra is the door to the Chakra of Yoga, where the connection takes place and the sublime is reached. So only if this narrow gate is opened, we can reach that higher state of bliss.

Sahasrara chakra

The Sahasrara, or Sahastrara, chakra is the limbic area. It is reflected in the center of our hand-palm and it has all the colors. It actually integrates all the chakras and has 1000 petals. Its qualities are: integration, union, silence, harmony, pure joy. The Sahasrara chakra is the Chakra of Yoga.
When we fully reach this level, we reach a state of complete bliss, of unconditioned love for the world, of integration between our Inner Self and the Supreme Self.

Our target is to reach a permanent state of Yoga, but in order to obtain it, first we need to clear all our chakras, so that no obstacle prevents the rising of our Kundalini and of our Spirit.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: