The energy channels and their archetypes

The Sun and the MoonWe have seen in a previous lesson that our energetic channels have specific characteristics that can be described by associating them to specific elements. For example we have seen that the Ida Nadi (left channel) manifests the cold, emotional side of us and it is represented by the Moon; similarly the Pingala Nadi (right channel) is the warm, action side of us and is represented by the Sun. We can also say that the Ida Nadi is the Yin, the feminine side of us; while the Pingala Nadi is the Yang or masculine side of us.
So these associations come into help to make us understand the subtle principles of our subtle system. These principles are not tangible or visible and so we are helped in the understanding of their values thanks to the associations of them with archetypes.
For example, when we talk of honesty, this is a concept; but when we say that John Doe is a honest person, if we know him, we fully understand what honesty is by observing his behavior. Or another example could be Mary, who is a very good mother and housewife; so when we think of Mary, we associate those qualities to her and we have a better understanding of how those qualities are manifested.

Now as we refers to subtle principles, we use universal archetypes. In our course of Yoga, we are going to use the ones that are used in the Indian tradition, because they are actually covering all the dimensions of our subtle system. We will see that also in other traditions  some of these archetypes have been considered, even though with different names.
Some of the archetypes we are going to consider have even been incarnated in human form. They came in human form to help human beings in their ascent. We will see examples just in this lesson.
We are referring to these archetypes  (called also as deities), because they will be used in Sanskrit mantras, as: by invoking them, we are actually invoking our subtle principles and their full manifestation.

In the Ida Nadi, the archetypes are: Shri Bhairava and Shri Mahakali. Shri Mahakali is actually the shakti of Shri Bhairava, that means the feminine counterpart of him (in our human dimension we can say that they are husband and wife).
In the Pingala Nadi, the archetypes are Shri Hanuman and Shri Mahasaraswati. Similarly to the Ida Nadi, Mahasaraswati is the shakti of Shri Hanuman.
For the Sushumna Nadi (central channel), we have Shri Mahalakshmi, that is also a shakti power.
Now all these archetypes, with their qualities, describe the essence of the corresponding energetic channels. As said previously, we have can find also in other traditions the same archetypes. For example, Shri Bhairava is Saint Michael, while Shri Hanuman is Saint Gabriel.

Some of this archetypes have taken human form in some incarnations. For example, we know that Saint Michael has incarnated as William Blake , who lived in England in the eighteenth century, and Saint George the patron of England. Shri Hanuman has come as Hanuman, who lived at the time of Shri Rama, more than 8000 years back. 

Shri Mahalakshmi has come, for example, as Mother Mary, the mother of Lord Jesus Christ. She has also come as Shri Sita and Shri Radha in India.

Now, those who are not accustomed to Indian tradition, should not worry if they do not remember all these names or if they do not fully understand why we need to know them. As you use those names in meditation and feel the positive effect in your chakras, everything will become natural.
For the time being, if understanding this thing is difficult, you can just think in this way. Let’s suppose your name is “Michael” and that by mistake someone calls you “John”, will you turn to that person or will you just ignore his call? In the same way, if you use the proper name for a specific subtle principle, that principle will come to you and will act to improve your energetic centers.

Some people could think that we are referring to a polytheistic religion and this thing could go against his own creed, etc. It is not like that. God is one. But God has many aspects that cannot be easily understood, this is why the comprehension of them is supported by the presence of these archetypes. We can also see that in Christian religion, there is the trinity composed by God Father, God Son and God Mother (also called as the Holy Ghost). Or we can see that in the Islam religion, there are hundreds names describing Allah, those name are subtle principles as well.
Now, in some peoples’ imagery, those principle have taken shape for an easier understanding, but this thing should not mislead the reader, as  God is one and formless. God is the creator and its creation, there is no separation, there is no duality.
By studying history, it is interesting to notice that the realization of the non-duality principle of God has not been immediate. At the time of Abraham, for example, people believed in idols; as he came out with his intuition that God is one, nobody wanted to believe him, at the point that he had to leave his own town.


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: