Yoga Terminology

In the previous lessons, we have introduced many new terms that we are going to recap in this lesson together with some new ones. It will probably look difficult to remember these names, for those who have just started to learn, but as they will often be repeated, you will soon learn them.
Of course, theory is important, but more important is the practice: learn how to meditate, how to help and improve your chakras, feeling them on your hands, etc.

First of all we have seen that Yoga actually means “union”, union of our Inner Energy and the All-pervading Energy, the one that rules all the Universe. Our Inner Energy is called as Kundalini and resides in our Sacred Bone, the triangular bone placed at the bottom of our spine — probably the Greek had an intuition while naming that bone.
When our Kundalini is awakened, we call this process as Self Realization, that means that we become aware of our Self (called also as Spirit, or Atma in Sanskrit). Our Self/Spirit is our true essence and it resides at the level of our Heart (How to get your Self Realization).
You Kundalini manifest herself as a cool breeze that you can feel on the palms of your hands and over your head. This manifestation of your Inner Energy is called as vibrations. It is actually an energy at very very high frequency, hogher than microwaves frequency; some scientists have discovered a correspondence between this energy and the torsion field.

Chakra ChartWhile rising for the first time, our Kundalini creates a central channel, called as Sushumna Nadi in Sanskrit. There are actually 3 channel: a left channel (Ida Nadi), a right channel (Pingala Nadi) and a central channel (Sushumna Nadi). All these channels (nadis) have specific characteristics we will see in a next lesson. For the time being, we have seen that the left and right channel have physical correspondence with our Sympathetic Nervous System, while the central channel have physical correspondence with the Parasympathetic Nervous System (Autonomic Nervous System: the way to know yourself).

As we know from anatomy, the nerves merge into plexuses, some of which correspond to energetic centers that are called as chakras in Sanskrit. All these centers are responsible of the activities for specific levels. Chakra means “wheel”, chakras are actually rotating at a specific speed. The main chakras are 7: Mooladhara, Swadhisthan, Nabhi or Manipur, Anahat or Heart, Vishuddhi, Agnya, Sahastrara or Sahasrara.
In particular the seventh chakra, Sahastrara, is the Chakra of Yoga, where actually is realized the connection of our Kundalini with the Paramchaitanya (the All-pervading Energy) and the Integration of all our chakras.

We have also seen how to raise our Kundalini in a quick way and how to give us a protection with a bandhan, that means an arc of protection (How to start meditation). This is am important thing to do when we start meditation, when we go out of home, or whenever we feel the need of a subtle protection (for example when you have to face a difficult situation).

Another important term that we will use is mantra. A mantra is an affirmation, sound or word that helps our chakras to get into balance. We will see how to use them properly in next lessons.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: